The Simple Past Tense

The Simple Past (by Kidovatov)

The simple past explains an event, which happened in the simple form and also known the time of the events.

They, we, I, you

+

V2

He, she, it

Note that V2 (second Verb) is only used in The Simple Past. There are two types of verb: regular verbs and irregular verbs. To change into regular verbs, simply add –ed or -d in the end of certain verbs. For irregular verbs, however you must memorize the change.

Regular verbs

 

Irregular verbs

V1

 

V2

 

V1

 

V2

to add -> added to begin -> began
to annoy -> annoyed to bite -> bit
to convey -> conveyed to forget -> forgot
to weary -> wearied to get -> got
to beg -> begged to go -> went
to travel -> travelled to lay -> laid
  • Tells events in the past

Michele Pisante, the new world Grand Master of Shokan, crowded over his victory

Monica saw a good film yesterday

Mikhail went to Dmitrovgrad last week

They came here last night

 

Read this short passage, which contains Simple Past. Pay close attention to the verbs in italics. Each of these verbs tells us what happened.

 

Please Send Me a Card

 

Postcards always spoil my holidays. Last summer, I went to Italy. I visited museums and sat in public gardens. A friendly waiter taught me a few words of Italian. Then he lent me a book. I read a few lines, but I did not understand a word. Every day I thought about postcards. My holidays passed quickly, but I did not send any cards to my friends. On the last day I made a big decision. I got up early and bought thirty-seven cards. I spent the whole day in my room, but I did not write a single card!

Comprehension Precis and Composition

Answer these question in not more than 50 words.

  1. Do postcards always spoil the writer’s holidays or not?
  2. Where did he spend his holidays last summer?
  3. What did he think about every day?
  4. Did he send any cards di to his friends or not?
  5. How many cards did he buy on the last day?
  6. Where did he stay all day?
  7. Did he write any cards or not?

 

Special Difficulties

He lent me a book.

Instead of saying:   We can say:
He lent me a book He lent a book to me
He sent me a card He sent a card to me
He passed me the salt He passed The salt to me
She bought me a tie She bought a tie for me
She made me a cake She made a cake for me

 

Write each of the following sentences in a different way:

  1. He paid the shop-keeper some money.
  2. He did me a big favour.
  3. She showed her husband her new hat.
  4. I owe him a lot of money.
  5. Pass the mustard to your father.
Leave a Reply

