English Phrasal Verbs (Part 1)

This is the list of phrasal verbs from English exercise book “Destination B1” – Malcolm Mann and Steve Taylore-Knowles published by MacMillan. Note that I create my own sentence from each phrasal verb.

Part I

  1. Add up to find the total of

I add up all the books, which I’ve bought from the bookstore, and give the bills to my mother to get reimbursement.

  1. Blow up to explode

His inventions have been blowing up for the last 3 months and make him rich abruptly.

  1. Break down to stop working (for a machine)

The sewing machine broke down yesterday, so that the supervisor must call someone to service the machine and fix the issues to fulfill demands before the due date.

  1. Break in(to) to enter illegally

My mother-in-law’s house was broken into by a stranger when the family was not there yesterday.

  1. Bring up to take care of a child until he or she becomes an adult

Since my grandmother didn’t have any children, she brought up my mother on her own.

  1. Build up to increase

The more you practice English the more you build up your skill.

  1. Call back to ring again on the phone

You sound busy, I’ll call you back later.

  1. Call off to cancel

The huge riot calls off the concert in the square.

  1. Calm down to become/make calmer

As the cat is frightened for seeing the catastrophe, it runs up and down everywhere and is difficult to calm down.

  1. Carry on to continue

I’ll never stop carrying on my journey to success.

  1. Catch up (with) to reach the same point/level as

The less smart students find great difficulties to catch up with their friends in the classroom.

  1. Cheer up to become/make happier

Because of living in the pole, Andrey cheers up like a crazy when he’s able to see the sun.

  1. Clear up to tidy

I always clear my room up before I go to work.

  1. Come across to find something by chance

Finally I come across some difficult words, which I’ve been searching for for a long time.

  1. Come back (from) to return (from)

The husband never comes back home early after work as he always visits his hidden girlfriend first.

  1. Come on to be quicker

Since my mother wakes up late, she must come on or she’ll miss the important meeting.

  1. Come out to be published

Tizziano Ferro, a popular Italian singer, came out with his big secret, which has been buried along his successful career.

  1. Cross out to draw a line through something written

The children must cross out to answer the exercises.

  1. Cut down (on) to do less of something (smoking, etc.)

Grandpa cuts down on the numbers of cigarettes he smokes to decrease the risk of cancer.

  1. Cut off to disconnect (phone, electricity, etc.)

My electricity is cut off since I haven’t paid the bill for 2 months.

  1. Cut off to completely remove by cutting

The mango has a lot of worms! I’ve to cut off some of its parts.

  1. Do up to button/zip up a piece of clothing

You’ve to do up your clothes since it’s getting colder.

  1. Eat out to eat at a restaurant

He never eats out since he only earns $100 every month; Furthermore he can’t afford to buy basic daily needs.

  1. Fall down to trip and fall

The woman fell down yesterday when she was trying to climb the mountain and hurt her vulnerable backbone.

  1. Fall out (with) to have an argument with someone and stop being friends

It’s such a pity that I fell out with my best friend and now we stop communicating.

  1. Fill in to add information in the spaces on a form, etc.

You ought to fill this form in or you’ll miss the class.

  1. Fill up to make something completely full

My cat fills his stomach up with a lot of expensive cat food.

  1. Find out to discover information, etc.

It’s very difficult to find out the street since I’m not familiar with the area.

Leave a Reply

